2014 Mercury Prize nominees announced

The esteemed Mercury Music Prize, known officially via sponsorship as the Barclay Mercury Prize, announced its 2014 nominees today. The award is UK-based and honors a record released by a British musician or group in which over half of the musicians are British. The shortlist is chosen by an independent panel of musicians, executives, journalists, and others in the music industry in the UK and Ireland.

Past winners include PJ Harvey, Antony and the Johnsons, and the xx. 

2014 Nominees are (Artist - Album):

FKA twigs - LP1
Damon Albarn - Everyday Robots
Young Fathers - Dead
East India Youth - Total Strife Forever
Bombay Bicycle Club - So Long, See You Tomorrow
Anna Calvi - One Breath
Go Go Penguin - v2.0
Nick Mulvey - First Mind
Polar Bear - In Each and Every One
Kate Tempest - Everybody Down
Royal Blood - Royal Blood
Jungle - Jungle

The winner is revealed on October 29th.